top of page
Search

Earth Day is Wednesday April 22nd

Welcome back everyone! I hope your Easter Break was refreshing and that the Easter Bunny brought you lots of good things!


I have been busy over break working on this website and thinking about what sorts of projects I could post here over the coming weeks for you all to try.


Now, to be clear -- if you don't have the exact materials for anything I work on, that's okay. Make do with what you have, or find a different project to work on. YOU ARE NOT REQUIRED to do every project or activity I blog about. I am just trying to make a variety of activities available for everyone. So, just do what you can.


For now you do have your Bingo Board to work on. But, I thought it would be fun to also blog a little bit about Earth Day -- and come up with a couple of projects that you might enjoy.


Earth Day is Wednesday, April 22nd. Earth Day, just like Mrs. B, turns 50 this year! (I'm really excited to have this in common with Earth Day) That's right -- 50 years old. So, in what year do you think Earth Day started then?....


If you said 1970, you were right -- it was a very good year -- it brought us Earth Day -- and me!! 😁😂


Earth Day was started as a way for people to express their desire for cleaner air and water and for protections to be put in place for our environment. It began in 1970 with about 20 million people in America, 50 years later the movement has grown to over 1 billion people worldwide! If you are interested in learning more about Earth Day and what you could possibly do to help out, check out the official website here: https://www.earthday.org/


As many of you know from class, I am very passionate about our environment and I believe as Catholics that we have a divine directive from God to be stewards of our planet and all of its inhabitants. We were not just put this Earth to use and abuse our resources, we were put here to care for it and make sure it remains viable for future generations.


Don't believe me, well then take it from Pope Francis. In 2015, Pope Francis wrote the Encyclical Letter Laudato Si’ on Care for Our Common Home. He believes, as I do that "Nothing in this world is indifferent to us." If you're interested in reading the Laudato Simore detail check it out here.


So, we're just going to begin with something small...so small, that I think sometimes we forget how important it is: 🐝


That's right...a bee. Now, as you know, I love bees. They're sort of like my mascot. I think they're adorable. But, as well as being cute, they're very, very important to us, as humans.


Take a look at this video:



Yes, bees are important! The health and welfare of bees directly impact our food supply -- how crazy is that?? These tiny creatures have a HUGE job!


Unfortunately, bees have been impacted by the pesticides that we use to control other types of insects particularly in our farming industry and their populations have been affected.


I will be posting 2 bee specific art projects over the next couple of days:


Bee Collage

This project is mixed media, focusing on paper collage but also including a "printmaking" technique using bubble wrap and paint.


Origami Bee

This project is simple Origami. If you have a piece of yellow paper, great. If not, get a piece of white and you can color it in with crayon or marker. This project also fulfills one of the boxes on Art Bingo as well.


Alright, all my busy bees!! I'll be posting a video on how to do the Origami bee tomorrow, Monday April 18th. Then I will post a video for the Bee Collage on Tuesday April 19th.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page